Start a Conversation

Unsolved

J

1 Message

September 20th, 2020 08:00

Motherboard fried after bios / firmware update

The motherboard fried after bios update....In less than 48hrs it was replaced onsite.....Great service from Dell support team..Sally Garcia & technician Joey at my home..'' Outstanding.......thank- you so much !

1 Rookie

• 

403 Posts

September 20th, 2020 09:00

that is refreshingly good news.

293 Posts

September 20th, 2020 10:00

That is outstanding service by DELL!  Now a happy camper.

November 12th, 2020 22:00

First I will start with: I am truly glad and happy for you that you received timely and helpful service from Dell. I, unfortunately, do not share your same experience.

Last Friday, after a BIOS update, I shut down my XPS13, and it never came back. The update fried the hard drive. It is my own fault for not backing up my data - so I lost everything.

It was my only laptop. I am a student, in my third year of business school, and let me tell you: trying to source a computer at various libraries during a pandemic, when you need specific software apps required to complete assignments (i.e. Power BI, Tableau, etc.) is nearly impossible when you’re not the administrator and cannot download these applications. This whole situation snowballed into a technological nightmare. Not to mention broke my entire student budget for the month.