Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 9th, 2013 13:00

Ask the Expert: AIMA: Everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask.

Welcome to this EMC Support Community Ask the Expert conversation.

YOU MAY ALSO BE INTERESTED ON THESE ATE EVENTS...

Ask the Expert: EMC Isilon Scale-out Data Lake

Ask the Expert: Isilon Performance Analysis

https://community.emc.com/message/863111#863111

This is an opportunity to learn about and discuss:

What is AIMA?

What is the design philosophy of AIMA, or, in other words, how should I configure it to be successful?

Some common deployment scenarios with best practices and pitfalls.

This discussion begins on 9-16-2013 and concludes on 9-27-2013. Get ready by bookmarking this page or signing up to receive email notifications.

Your host(s): Tim Wright

profile-image-display.jspa?imageID=7843&size=350

Work

Biography: I have a degree in Computer Science with Mathematics from the University of Bristol, England.
Subsequently, I have spent over 25 years working on complex clustered systems in Customer Support, Professional Services, QA, and Engineering at various companies. I have performed kernel development on both Unix (DYNIX/ptx) and Linux.

Because of my breadth and depth of knowledge and experience, I am frequently called upon to diagnose and solve the most complex and difficult problems that involve multiple disparate areas of the product and environment.

Outside of work, I enjoy food and wine (both eating out and cooking/entertaining), playing with technology and music (singing and musical typesetting).
Expertise: Extremely broad and deep knowledge of Unix and Linux. Kernel-level development experience with both.
Considerable knowledge and experience in Microsoft Windows architecture and programming.
Significant VMware experience, including VSP and VTSP certification.
Deep knowledge of IP networking, InfiniBand, storage, SANs, Intel-architecture hardware etc.