Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 15th, 2009 05:00

1-TB RAID 0 on XPS M2010

Hi, all!

Noob here on the Dell forums.

I want to ask if anyone out there has tried installing two 500-GB hard drives on an XPS M2010 and linked them in RAID 0 for a total of 1 terabyte storage.  I plan to do this on my M2010, but I want to know first if this is at all possible for this model of laptop before I buy the components (actually, except for the hard drives themselves, I already have all components -- cables, caddy and all).  Are there any limits set by the BIOS or hard drive controllers or anything else on the laptop that might prohibit this?

Thanks!

30 Posts

November 19th, 2009 05:00

Why thank you again Crc2! This is a great post! Windows 7 turned your XPS into a rather fashionable boat anchor.

I was thinking about my process today before getting started. I will do a Windows 7 UPGRADE first instead of the clean install as I stated before.

That is funny that we both have Sony Vaio laptops.  Im using a VGN-NR385E. My only complaint is the battery lasts 15 minutes on a good day. My newest toy is an Asus EEePC netbook. I bought it for travel to the Netherlands. 6 hour battery life is great on the long flights. And its so light, but too small for everyday computing of course. Its an excellent tool to have in the briefcase. And you cant beat the price. It was cheaper than my cell phone. Hah!

Ok, more coffee then Im going to start the Upgrade.

Cheers!

92 Posts

November 19th, 2009 07:00

I just sent a letter to Dell complaining. I had to post it as their customer services department dont have an email address!!  It took 5 telephone connections including Ireland, India, somewhere else, and then back to the UK (where I live) to get the postal address. Hard work or what!