Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 9th, 2013 05:00

Bios Update failed

Hi, Today I opened my inspiron N5010 the fan was very loud so I updated the bios and when I was updating it my stupid brother (5 years old) removed the AC Charger and I have no battery so my laptop is died now

Note  (Warranty expired)

Any help please

I have work to do because I'm a website designer  :(

Thank all I fixed it, I will give you the solution, Follow me Please

First Download the BIOS From the dell website, NOTE: the provided link is for N5010 Bios

ftp.us.dell.com/.../N5010A10.EXE

drag and drop to a CMD window hit space 1 time and type /writeromfile

repeat with /writehdrfile so it says

N5010A10.EXE /writehdrfile

rename n5010a10.hdr to N5010.HDR (per Phoenix Mod tool recovery filename) and put in usb fat32 stick. (i use sandisk cruzer 8gb and works on my inspiron 1520)

walah! files are written

or heres the A10 version

N5010.HDR www.mediafire.com

now the recovery method is tricky.

usually i can read the proper file name but in this one its not found. (Phoenix Mod tool found it N5010.HDR)

usualy if u save the hdr in usb FAT32 and take battery out and power.

plug in usb to rear or sides (try all)

hold the END key and plug in power cord.

(sometimes have to hold power button and END key)

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

The BIOS chip can be reflashed externally - you'll need a shop that can unsolder it, flash it and resolder it.  It'll cost about $150 in the US to have this done - less than a mainboard replacement.

3.3K Posts

Hi Omar Mohamed,

We need to replace the mptherboard on the computer. As you said that the computer is out of warranty, contact expired warranty services for compatible part replacement (USA based):

http://dell.to/4LOBWi

Awaiting your response!

That's a good idea (ejn63)

Fine, no other solution like replacing bios chip ?

ok  Saharsh K so, no bios chip replacement ?

1.5K Posts

Hi Omar,