Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 9th, 2013 09:00

Dell Inspiron 1420 (?) not powering on

I read other forums about this problem but they didn't fit the one i have. I am a beginner and I have no idea what to do.
When i press the power button the power light and wifi light turn on for nearly a second and shuts off. The wifi light shuts off before the power light shuts off. The screen doesnt even turn on.
I tried taking the battery out and holding the power button down but it did not work. I also tried changing the battery also just running it on ac adapter but there was no difference. Now what can I do? (I hope you guys can recommend something a beginner like me can do. You know, things that don't include taking the laptop apart and that kind of stuff)
And yes this computer is old. It runs Windows Vista and I had it for quite a while, since 2007 or something. I swear it was brand-new when i first got it.

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

June 9th, 2013 10:00

Unplug the system, remove the battery and hold the power button for 30 sec.  Remove and reinstall both memory modules (if memory serves, one is easily accessible under the door at the bottom of the system, while the other is under the keyboard).

Verify that the LED on the AC adapter comes on and stays on before you plug in the notebook end.  If it does not, the adapter is very likely faulty and needs to be replaced.

Plug back in and try powering up.  If it will without the battery but not with it, the battery is bad.

If it won't power up thereafter, the mainboard is toast.  It's not worth the couple of hundred dollars it'll cost just for a mainboard for a system this old - start shopping for a replacement system.

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

June 9th, 2013 15:00

If you're not willing to work with the hardware, you'll need to bring the system to a computer shop for troubleshooting.