Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

G

November 22nd, 2016 18:00

Dumpster Diving: Found old Dell Laptop - Need help with Dell code to erase/reset admin password

Hello,

I am a property manager who manages some self-storage facilities. We recently had a few spaces go to auction and as a result the auction winners threw stuff they didn't want into the dumpster. I was emptying the trash from the office and noticed that someone had thrown a few laptops into the dumpster. As a tech nerd, I climbed into the dumpster and pulled the laptops from the garbage.

One of the laptops was a Dell laptop. I cleaned it up a bit and used one of my Dell laptop chargers to try and charge the battery overnight. Then, I hit the power button and hoped..... nada. Opened the back panel and immediately saw that it had no hard drive.... but the memory was still installed as well as the WIFI adapter. The screen was cracked but I had hope that it might still be usable once I could actually get the laptop to boot.

So, I pulled out one of my old SATA laptop hard drives, re-formatted it and installed it in the laptop.

Hit the power button and saw that I could not install Win10 from the USB port since the laptop had an admin password installed and of course, I had no idea what it was. So, I called Dell and gave them all the laptop info and my personal info and they gave me a code to enter which was supposed to disable or erase the unknown admin password and allow me to change the boot options to include the usb port.

The code does not work. The dell rep mentioned something about hitting the Shift and Control keys while I hit the enter key but that still doesn't make the code work.

I have all the laptop info and the code given to me by Dell and can post that info if it will help solve this issue.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

John

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

November 23rd, 2016 04:00

Unless you can track down the registered owner, you'll need to replace the mainboard.