Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 26th, 2013 07:00

How to connect speakers to a Dell Inspiron?

I'm not very good at computing and would need help to connect two or four speakers to my Dell Inspiron and I don't know how to do. Are there anyone out there who would like to tell me - in a very simple way?

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

September 26th, 2013 08:00

I'm not very good at computing and would need help to connect two or four speakers to my Dell Inspiron and I don't know how to do. Are there anyone out there who would like to tell me - in a very simple way?

Hello. Depends on your speaker's type of connection. If you have a 2 speaker system, or a 2.1 system (2 speakers plus a separate woofer), that has a single cable that terminates in a single standard 3.5 mm mini-plug, simply insert that plug into the headphone jack socket of the laptop.

In the Sound properties dialog, "Speakers" or "Speakers/Headphones" should be selected as the default playback device.

If your speakers have a cable that terminates in a usb plug, then insert it into a usb port and select the usb device to be the default playback device.

If your speakers have a cable that terminates in 2 RCA plugs then you need an adapterIf you need more information please describe your speakers in more detail, and include the full model name of your Inspiron laptop and its operating system.

If you have a 4speaker system, please say if it is a surround sound system or just normal stereo.

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

September 27th, 2013 06:00

Hello. PLEASE tell me the full model name of your Inspiron laptop. I cannot tell you how to connect a 5.1 surround system unless you provide some basic information like that.