Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 9th, 2016 23:00

I made a big MISTAKE choosing DELL

Hello,

I am a student currently pursuing my masters in Electrical Engineering here at a State University in California. A Laptop is the most integral and a very important tool for an engineering student. I used to have a different brand laptop which ran very well 2 years. After that, last year in April'2015 the hard disk of my laptop was crashed due to water damage and I had to buy a new laptop. I decided that I would go for a DELL laptop this time thinking that they were robust and would last long. I purchased DELL Inspiron 7568 2in1 Touch laptop for a hefty price. I thought it would yield twin benefit of a conventional laptop and that of a tablet. After a week of use I started experiencing some issues with the laptop which I later found out was known as ghost touch. I tried to install new drivers and looked for a solution on Youtube. The problem grew over and used to happen more frequently. After like one month of purchase I called the DELL customer support asking for help. They updated my BIOS and said to contact them if the problem persists. Again after one week I called them stating that I still face the same issue. They asked me to send my Laptop to a service center so that the technicians can take a look at the matter. As my Final Examination was coming over I decided to send the laptop in the Fall break. I called the Dell support and asked if they can send me a spare laptop as I had to work on a project in the Fall break, but I was denied. It took around two weeks to send them a box as they sent it to a wrong address in the first attempt. After so many calls and emails finally, I got my box and quickly sent it to the mentioned address for repair. I used to call them frequently to get the status of my repair. After around 15 days I was informed that they could not repair my laptop and would now send me a refurbished laptop with th