mz7181
1 Copper

Re: Inspiron 1501 memory limits

Hi,

The most RAM your dell inspiron can handle is a 2 x1 GB RAM as i have one of these laptops myself and bought a 4GB RAM and it couldn't handle the RAM.

So don't buy anyhting bigger.

0 Kudos
neal_nelson
1 Copper

Before you give advice you should read the entire thread.  People upgrading to a 64-bit Operating System are able to use more ram. 

0 Kudos
mz7181
1 Copper

well that's a bunch of <ADMIN NOTE: Substitute character  removed as per TOU> and you know it is. mine is a 64-bit. i'm a professional at this. so before you try and tell me that i'm wrong you should try it first. i run a 64-bit windows 7 on mine and 2 X 1 GB is all it can handle.

0 Kudos
Big_D_Bobby
1 Copper

Ok well Several of us on here have had no issue running 4 or even 8GB on a 64 bit OS on the 1501 .... So Perhaps you bought the wrong speed or voltage for the Modules? Or just plain got unlucky and purchased an incompatible brand!

It does occasionally happen. I am sure this is your particular issue. I bought 2x2GB modules and they worked great with Win 7 Professional 64 Bit recognizing all 4 gigs. Many have reported they used 2x4GB modules and a 64Bit OS and had all 8GB.

I wonder did you flash the BIOS first to the most recent BIOS ?

what speed and Brand memory did you use?

I hope you did not mix the module brands or specs , did you ?

So Let Me Know,  and I can help you get yours working with more than just 2x1GB.

That way I dont have to tell you that you are wrong, I am sure for whatever reason yours isnt right now so you are right

but only on your specific machine ...

Other Inspiron 1501 have no issue at all what so ever with 64 Bit OS recognizing up to 8GB total using 2x matched modules of the correct speed memory. As for being a professional at this it Might help you to look a bit more professional if you Didn't Curse at the other posters

0 Kudos
Big_D_Bobby
1 Copper

the Dell web site says only 2GB  but it is wrong !