Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 3rd, 2009 18:00

Inspiron 6000 "Error Loading Operating System"

I know this error is likely a problem with the BIOS.  I first encountered this about 4 months ago and took the laptop to a repair shop where they said the error was unrecoverable so I had to reformat the hard drive and reinstall everything.  Now a few months later I get the same error.  I downloaded the latest BIOS and re-flashed it - I know this is the correct BIOS to be using but still get the same error.  I think everything is still there I just can't get the hard drive to be recognized and boot Windows.

I can't keep having to format and reinstall everything every few months.  If I can't get it working this time without reformat I'm probably going to trash it.  I will also become a Dell hater but I hope I don't have to since I've been using Dell laptops for over 15 years with mostly good results but it seems quality has gone down significantly in recent years.

Thanks.

9 Legend

• 

87.5K Posts

May 3rd, 2009 18:00

Given the age of the system and the design life of a hard drive (which is five years), I'd bet the drive has started to fail.

Power on, press F12, load the Dell diagnostics and run the extended hard drive test.

9 Legend

• 

87.5K Posts

May 4th, 2009 08:00

Try reseating the drive - -remove and reinstall it.  If the problem persists, you have either a drive that's slow to spin up, or a bad mainboard - the drive is well under $100 to replace, vs $400+ for a board, so if the problem persists, try a new drive first.

May 4th, 2009 08:00

The system is less than 5 years but the last time the system crashed I thought it was the hard drive  - ran all the diagnostics without error.  Also ran them again this time and no errors....  Thank you for the suggestion but I don't think the hard drive is currently the issue (although it is getting old enough to fail but it seems to be working according to the tests).