Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 17th, 2013 07:00

LED error code problem.

Hi all, this is my first post here so be gentle. ^_^

I have been fixing PC's and laptops for a few years quite succesfully but this is winning so need a Dell tech for help.

The laptop in question is;

Dell Inspiron 1501

Model number:- PP23LA

Service tag:- <ADMIN NOTE: Service tag removed per privacy policy>

It's way out of warranty so the chap asked what I could do with it as money is tight. The LED error code is solid Caps lock and flashing Scroll lock which I can find no info on and I can't believe no one in the Google universe has come across. The power is OK, the fan is OK, the modem is OK, the Wi-Fi card is OK. I've swapped out the RAM modules and the HDD. I've changed the button cell for the BIOS. I've done a complete strip-down and clean. I've reapplied TIM to the CPU and a new thermal pad to the GPU(onboard). I've done the power reset thingy(?). I've hooked the lappy to a external monitor and keyboard with no joy.

Any one out there KNOW what this error code is for please?

Thanks,

Jusyn.

1.3K Posts

August 17th, 2013 08:00

Hi Jusyn,

Welcome to Dell Community Forum.

The solid Caps Lock and flashing Scroll Lock LED error code is indicative of USB initialization failure. 

You need to remove any USB devices (which you may have already done since you have removed several internal hardware components previously) or replace the system board.

The link below may be helpful:

Notebooks cannot complete POST:  http://dell.to/10NjwN5

Please reply if you have further queries.

Thanks and regards,
Babita S
#iworkforDell 

For easy access to drivers, manuals and product updates, please visit our Support Site .

9 Legend

• 

87.5K Posts

August 17th, 2013 08:00

Is the num lock solid on, off or flashing?

5 Posts

August 17th, 2013 09:00

@ejn63 - Number lock LED is off.