Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 6th, 2011 05:00

Multiple XPS 15z won't boot from USB Flash drives

I'm an IT tech and was prepping some XPS 15z notebooks.  Part of my procedure is to boot from a bootable USB flash drive that has GHOST and clone images to the drives.  Done it a million times (on other systems).

Yesterday, I'm attempting to boot from my bootable USB and I get "Operating System not found" at boot.  Shocked, I thought my GHOST boot drive was corrupt.

I pull out my own XPS 15z and the GHOST drive boots fine, even after multiple tries.

I put it back in the new 15z and same thing, "Operating System not found".  I also have a bunch of bootable Windows 7 installation USB Flash drives.  I pop in one of those into the new 15z, and it won't boot either.  I try a different USB 3.0 port, and get the same result.  Lastly, I try the USB/eSATA port, and none of my USB keys show up at all (during boot or in the BIOS boot order).

Figuring the 15z was defective, I tried the 2nd 15z I was prepping.  SAME THING.  Third 15z...SAME.  

What's odd is my own 15z works just fine.  I tried updating the BIOS in the 15z's to the same as mine (A06) as they were at A05.  No difference.

CAN ANYONE BOOT FROM A USB FLASH DRIVE SUCCESSFULLY?

This is completely bizarre.  First, neither of the USB 3.0 ports will boot, and second, the combo USB/eSATA port will not detect the presence of a USB drive at boot.

To make matters worse, the USB ports seem to work fine in Windows 7.  They are detected, and with a Windows 7 installation USB Flash drive, I can start a Windows 7 installation, so that tells me the ports work.

Ideas???

November 8th, 2011 06:00

Hi,

I had the same problem, after I updated bios to last version (I think A06) I was able to boot from USB from combine port (eSata/USB).

November 9th, 2011 05:00

Well, on a 15z I just tried that on, it DID WORK!  Thank you.