Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 17th, 2009 08:00

Strange Latitude XT issue

Hello, I am a technician for a large corporation. We have users that utilize Latitude XT tablets. Currently our organization has deployed 350+ Latitude XT Tablets. Our configuration is WinXP SP2, BIOS A06, Solid State 32GB drive, 4GB RAM, MultiTouch update, latest XP drivers (ATI 8.551).

My dilemma is this: many users have the PR12S docking station.  These docking stations are connected via DVI to a Dell 1708FP flat panel LCD. Occasionaly the external LCD will start "bleeding" colors. I describe it that way because it looks to be interference. But it is connected via DVI, so it should not be EMI. I have tried every thinkable driver solution, to no avail. I have tried several BIOS versions (A02,A05,A06), NTRIG Multitouch firmware upgrade, ATI drivers (from their website) -- which mess up the tablet lid closing functions, but I tried it just to see if this problem went away, which it did not. The video driver versions I have tried were the original, 8.491 and 8.551. The problem is still occurring.

I don't know what to tell our users. I need some serious help from someone.

Thanks!

Curtis

1 Message

February 17th, 2009 10:00

Curtis,

Not sure if I can help at all, but- I did notice that you mentioned trying the VGA port out of the Docking station.  If you have tried this, does it also "bleed"?  I noticed that there is a new BIOS v-A07 posted recently.  It does not list any fixes related to the video on it, but in the absence of anything else...

Have you been able to replicate the problem in your lab? 

Since it is "Occaisonal" that makes it doubly hard to trouble shoot. 

Once it starts does it continue until you reboot, or something other step that stops it? 

Is it only XTs that are connected to the dock or have all of them exhibited this issue? 

Is the cable one you got from Dell or a third party?