Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 5th, 2010 11:00

Studio & XPS Users experiencing video lockups and freezes / Throttling issues

If you have questions regarding 130 watt power adapters, please refer to the thread below:
Attention Studio XPS 1645/47 and Studio 1747 owners

For all others, I am not an engineer so if you have something you would like to see added to this initial post, please PM me and I will add it.

Since rumors are that there are different motherboard revisions, please download the 64bit version of CPU-Z here.

In the Mainboard tab, please tell us your Model # and BIOS revision as well as the model of laptop you are using.  Please make sure you are running the latest drivers.

So again, please provide:
Model of laptop
BIOS Revision number
Board Model
Power supply (130w/90w)
If you are running non-Dell-approved drivers, please tell us what version(s) you are using of those as well.

After you have put this in the header of your response, please state what issues you are still having with:
Throttling
System lock-ups
Performance between battery and AC adaptor plugged in
Playing HD streams
USB power
Sleep or hibernate issues
Fan constantly running at high speeds
The engineers and developers are (from what I can tell) doing a pretty decent job of trying to find a cure for all of the issues so let's try and make this as concise as possible for them to make things go faster :)

20 Posts

July 10th, 2010 21:00

The link for your post that refers to click here does not work. Also I posted problems I had with my computer elsewhere because I didn't wish to take up a whole page with this post. http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19338514.aspx (You want some details right?)

2 Posts

July 15th, 2010 00:00

Hello Sir, here are my laptop details,

Model - Dell XPS 1645

BIOS Revision number - A09

Board Model - 0Y517R

Processor - i7 720QM

Power supply (130w/90w) - 130w