Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

5 Posts

January 26th, 2009 10:00

Time sync

I have an Inspiron E1405 and McAfee.  I cannot get my clock to work.  I have tried everything in the drop down box.   I am a computer novice.  Can someone help.

3.6K Posts

January 26th, 2009 15:00

Single click on the clock icon>select"change date and time settings"at bottom of screen>internet time tab>click "synchronize with internet time".

If this does not fix it,the CMOS battery might need to be replaced.

5 Posts

January 28th, 2009 08:00

Everyone tells me to do this and I have tried over and over and  this is what I get              an error occured when windows was syncronizing with.......    This error message occurs everytime I try any of the ones in the drop down box.

2.9K Posts

January 28th, 2009 10:00

When you get that error, have you tried that same time server again? I often get that message, but when I try a second time (right after the error message appears), everything works.

3.6K Posts

January 28th, 2009 11:00

Then it is either one of two problems,the CMOS battery needs replacing,or your battery needs replacing.

5 Posts

January 28th, 2009 21:00

I don't use my computer on battery.  It is always plugged in.

5 Posts

January 28th, 2009 21:00

Yes, I have tried it over and over.

9 Legend

• 

30.3K Posts

January 28th, 2009 22:00

What Rebel9 was saying is there is a battery on the circuit board the size of a quarter that keeps the clock and settings. He thinks the battery might be bad.

I had an issue with my Inspiron B130 with the clock sync. Here is what I did to get it working again. First make backup copies of files and folders that you cannot afford to lose. This should be a normal practice.

Insert the operating system disk and restart your computer.

Press any key to boot from CD.

Choose install

Do the agreement

Now choose repair.