Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

D

February 3rd, 2015 06:00

XPS 13 (2015) brightness issues

Has anyone else experienced going from a darker webpage to a lighter one, like google that the brightness takes about 5 seconds to readjust?

Never seen this on any other laptop or monitor, kind of annoying and wondering if I should return this laptop.

3 Posts

June 10th, 2015 08:00

I have a new XPS 13 9343 and this adaptive brightness has me about to return the otherwise great machine. Are there any updates?

June 10th, 2015 15:00

You just have to get used to it man

3 Posts

June 10th, 2015 17:00

To quote you from a few weeks ago Mr. popcrnchicken: "I hope they are. The auto-brightness is driving me nuts!" :)

If not they will lose this customer...

June 10th, 2015 23:00

Just gotta hope for the best

1 Message

July 7th, 2015 05:00

C'mon Dell, please fix this bug ASAP.

As a coder I switch between dark-backgrounded IDE and Chrome very often, and the adaptive brightness make the contrast unacceptable and burning my eyes.

3 Posts

August 7th, 2015 10:00

It also makes the laptop impossible to use for photo/video editing. A great laptop, potentially, but ruined by this bug.

I have had to return mine; it's just unusable for my intended purposes. A real shame.

1 Message

November 19th, 2015 16:00

This issue is even persisting in the NEW XPS 13 Sky Lake version.  I have been trying to find a fix just like everyone else but did not success. 

This screen adaptive brightness is really really annoying !!

Dell should provide a fix in the BIOS to run this stupid thing OFF for good.

It is annoying so many customers, if it wasn't for this, I would recommend the product to other people but this is holding up my recommendations.