Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 6th, 2009 10:00

How do I install Ubuntu on my Mini 12 (it came with XP)

I'd like to have a dual boot system on this netbook until I'm comfortable enough with Ubuntu to completely dump XP.  In the meantime, I'm having trouble installing Ubuntu.  I used the Wubi installer (wubi-installer.org/), but I end up at a black screen with a prompt.  I type 'startx' and then get an error "fatal server error. no screens found. giving up"

...?

What's the trick for installing Ubuntu on the Mini 12?

My other computer is a Mac.  I don't have an external CD/DVD drive, but I can copy ISOs to a USB flash drive, if need be, but I'd really rather not wipe out the hard drive on this Mini 12 yet.  I have no experience with XP, so I'd rather avoid the hassle of trying to re-installing it along with finding whatever drivers I'd need for this hardware.

1 Message

March 8th, 2009 19:00

I'd like to do the same thing.  My mini 12 came with Vista Home (I bought it from the Dell outlet site, so I had no choice).  Vista is unusable on the mini.  With only 1 Gb memory, Vista takes up 600 Mb with no applications running.

I installed XP, and it's workable, but I'd like to get the Dell Ubuntu image.  The standard version of Ubuntu 8.04 has driver incompatibilities, and the standard Ubuntu 8.10 won't work at all.  Will Dell release their Ubuntu 8.04 image for those of us that want Linux but have Windows installed?

1 Message

March 9th, 2009 20:00