Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 25th, 2009 06:00

2209WA sudden blackout

Hi

I've recieved my new Dell 2209WA on 19-Feb-2009, after two days I've encounted the sudden blackout. When the screen is on, after 30 minutes or more the screen goes totally black (the on button is blue as in monitor is on) and then resumes in two seconds to normal operation, then it happens again in about 10 minutes cycles. It happens while I'm using the computer (no possible computer screen save or PowerSave issue). 

The monitor is connected by DVI cable (from the monitor box).

"Solution" I've tried: I've cancelled the screen saver and PowerSave on the control panel, no change. I've rebooted the computer sevral times.

The DVI output of the computer worked with another LCD and CRT while using DVI->VGA adapter, no such problem ever happend.

11 Posts

February 27th, 2009 17:00

I'm no expert, but it sounds like you may have a faulty power supply in your monitor. I recently had an Acer 22" LCD which did the same thing - it is currently sent in for warranty repair. In the meantime I just bought a Dell 2209WA as a replacement (which has its own set of problems, which i listed in different posts).

It sounds like, with your possible faulty power supply, you may need to request a Return Authorization from Dell and get your Advance Replacement monitor to try...

Dell support phone numbers

Email Customer Service

8 Posts

March 1st, 2009 03:00

Thanks,

I'm suspecting the DVI cable now. I've taken another cable and check to see if problem occurs again. Yet, with the original cable I could connect another monitor (Xerox 22) with no probelm.I'll updated when I have new results.

8 Posts

March 4th, 2009 06:00

Well,

No luck. Changing cable didn't help. Tried to get support but no luck either, I have no service tag so I don't any answers from Dell reps. I'm thinking to return it and have the retail shop handle it, let them talk with Dell reps.