Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 15th, 2013 15:00

U2713HM - Image noise when moving items / flickering / thin diagonal lines

Hi there - I have owned my u2713hm approx two months now, and have it hooked up to my macbook retina via mini-display to display port.

I am a graphic designer and have noticed whenever moving images etc around the screen, a cloud of fine noise surrounds it. As soon as you stop moving, the noise goes away. Since first noticing it while designing I now notice it on everything I move, from Finder windows to QT windows etc. 

Another issue I noticed while using Adobe After Effects is that if there is a sudden shift from light to dark colour in an animation Im working on, the whole screen brightness alters and flickers at the same time. Very very annoying and distracting.

And no, Im not finished yet...finally, there appear to be a constant pattern of very thin diagonal lines that cover the whole screen. Have never seen this on any other screen.

If any one can help with any of those issues so I dont have to deal with Dell's notoriously bad after sales customer service then please get involved!

Thanks!

Dom

Specs:

Macbook Pro Retina 2012

Processor  2.7 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory  16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics  Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB

HD 720GB

2K Posts

April 17th, 2013 04:00

Hi domburgess,

I will be glad to help you. Request you to answer the below questions:

(1) Do you hear the sound from the system or from the monitor?

(2) Also send me a picture of the screen where the diagonal lines are seen.

(3) If possible, try connecting the monitor to a different system and check if the same issue happens.

Do reply with your answers.

11 Posts

April 17th, 2013 12:00

Hi Kiran,

Thanks for your reply - Here are my answers to the questions, not amazing useful though Im afraid!

(1) No noticeble sound coming from system or monitor.