Start a Conversation

Unsolved

M

3 Posts

June 15th, 2020 14:00

U3818DW, Linux, MacBook, two USB issues

I have been using the Dell Windows 10 only U3818DW for the last two years with a MacBook and a Linux Ubuntu desktop. The last firmware update fixed the issue that was waking up my Macbook Pro 2018, but I still have two USB specific issues:

a) Under Linux I have a Logitech BRIO Webcam USB3 that won't be recognized by Ubuntu if plugged into the monitor. It works for the Mac, but not for Linux. If I plug the webcam directly to the Linux machine then it works. Other accessories work fine plugged into the monitor.

b) When switching between Mac (USB-C) and Linux (DP+USB) my Razer mouse will stop working SOMETIMES. The only fix is to unplug the USB-C cable from the Mac and plug it back in a different USB-C port on the laptop.

Apart from these issues, everything else is going smoothly. Any ideas if there is a fix for the above?

8 Posts

June 15th, 2020 19:00

The U3818DW USB hub stops working after a while. It happens multiple times a day. Most of the time I can solve the problem by turning the monitor off and on again. But in some cases all the usb devices stops working on my MacBook and I have to shutdown my MacBook. This issue doesn't effect the screen quality at all.

My setup: 

• Dell U2720Q, firmware: M2T101
  • MacBook Pro 13" 2020 model, macOs Catalina
  • Devices are connected with USB-C PD cable.
  • USB devices; Mouse and network card attached to the monitor. (USB-A). Problem exists also with an USB-C hub connected to the port on the left of the monitor.