Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 20th, 2015 03:00

Limiting Number of Clients that Run Concurrently

Hi There - Please bear with me as I'm new to Networker having come from a Netbackup and Dataprotector background.  I've spent a few days reading through config guides and whitepapers and, whether or not its the terminology, or my inability to spot it, ive been looking for an option for a policy whereby I can limit the number of clients that can run concurrently.  i.e.

If I create a policy which contains 100 servers that all use the same directive and have a window that allows backups to run between 18:00 03:00 can I limit the total amount of servers that can run at any one time within that window to say, 25? 

My ultimate goal, within this current environment is to lessen the "policy sprawl" and create fewer policies with more clients as a pose to what is happening at the moment, many policies with fewer clients.

your input is appreciated.

Regards,

Storage_Monkey (aka BackupBoy)

40 Posts

January 20th, 2015 04:00

Hello BackupBoy,

Number of policies in NetWorker is one of the impacts for people coming from NetBackup world where you used to define policies for OS type for example and finished with few ones. NetWorker have many flexible options and you need to learn how to efficiently use them to acquire administrator and site needs.

Specifically to your request you can use "parallelism" attribute which come at several levels ( server, client, group...)

I would pay attention to best practices on parallelism and number of clients on policies. take in consideration also the recovery needs when you test and configure parallelism and multiplexing.

You didn't supply the NetWorker version but you can find all the relevant information on configuration and best practices in "NetWorker Administration Guide" and "NetWorker Performance Optimization Planning Guide " documentation.