Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 22nd, 2018 10:00

cross platform migration with nsrmmdbasm fails

Hi all,

I have a NetWorker Server (v9.2) running on SLES and the plan is to migrate to a Windows Server. 2016

I followed the procedure which is described in the cross platform migration guide.

I copied /nsr/res and /nsr/index to the new server. I created a dump file of /nsr/mm using nsrmmdbasm. I changed the hostname of the new Windows server to match the old machine and powered it off. After installing the NetWorker software on the target host, I copied res and index to it's location. But I cannot import the mmdb.dump with nsrmmdbasm (nsrmmdbasm -r -2 < mmdv.dump). I get an error message which states: "Program not registered".

When I try to run just nsrmmdbasm.exe from the command line, I get another error message: permission denied.

I don't know where this comes from. I'm an Administrator on the server and I check the permissions on the bin files and the mmdv.dump which look fine to me.

I checked DNS resolving, I can ping the server and connect to it by using the new name.

Can anyone help me? Any help appreciated.

P.S.: Can I use nsrdr for a cross platform migration?

Cheers,

beacon.

2.4K Posts

May 23rd, 2018 01:00

Is the NW Server up and running at all?

I assume that you have shutdown the NW server prior to copying the directories.

-  Did you start him later?

-  If so, did it start at all? (yet)

I am pretty sure that it will not be possible if you did not modify the resources.

I briefly looked through the document and from my first impression it is just incomplete in several areas. It seems to work if you migrate on the same platform family but not if you go beyond. Look at the general guideline I suggested some days ago

("Migrate Networker 8.2 on Solaris to RHEL").

nsrdr will most likely not work as this will recover the databases to the same directory/pathname which simply does not exist any more.

48 Posts