Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 22nd, 2018 09:00

Dell PowerConnect 2848 Help

Hello,

I am new to networking in general and I am trying to Web UI into a Dell Power Connect 2848 switch. The issue is I do not know the IP address of this device. I know where it is physically, but plugging into the back of it is next to impossible (It is in a small network closet and the back of the device is against the back of the closet wall). Furthermore, I am not sure how to console into the device. I am using a Dell Laptop with Windows 10 and using a USB-C to RJ45 adapter. What I am thinking I need to do is plug the other end of the serial cable into the device, then plug the adapter USB-C portion into my laptop which I have done. From that point, I am using Putty, and trying to connect via serial since I am do not know the device IP. 

I have read about needing to possibly modify serial settings, and so far I have speed @ 9600, data bits @ 8, Stop bits @ 1, Parity @ none, and flow control @ none.

Are these the right settings? What else can I do to get connected into this device to pull the IP address so I can web interface into it?

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

August 29th, 2018 08:00

Not a physical reset button, but the web config when it asks you to reboot. Go ahead and reboot it from there, and once the switch comes back up you should have access.

41 Posts

August 22nd, 2018 13:00

Hi Daniel, I have a DB9 cable (Serial to RJ45) that came with the switch I am using. It is a blue cable with a serial connector at one end, and ethernet on the other end. This is then plugged into an RJ45 to USB-c adapter I plug into my laptop. 

Does that sound correct? Are the settings I put into putty correct? 

Also, this switches IP address was changed to something on our 192.168.125.xxx network, but it is not coming up in the network scan Using advanced IP scanner. Would this be a result of it being in secure/un-managed mode?