Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 27th, 2012 06:00

PC6248 switches,PowerConnect W-650 wireless controller & PowerConnect AP-105 access point

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Dell PC switches and would advice on the following. I need to connect some PC6248 switches + W-650 Wireless Controller and a AP to a customer network. Is there any videos or tutorial  that is available for such an deployment. Thank you for advance.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

April 27th, 2012 07:00

Sorry, there is not a video on how to install these devices. From what I gather the W-650 and AP are going to plug into the switch as if it was an client, and is not VLAN aware. So on the switch if you have a VLAN set for that port, you may need to set the port to access mode .Other than that it should just be a plug and play ordeal.

The default IP address of the WP-650 is 172.16.0.254, this can be used in a web browser to access the setup page of the unit. Once you have access to the unit, you can then click the configuration tab, and there will be a list of setup wizards . You can run these setup wizards to help ensure the device is configured properly.

• Controller Wizard basic controller configuration including system settings, Control Plane security, cluster settings and licenses

• WLAN/LAN Wizard creating and configuring new WLANs and LANs associated with the  default  ap-group. Includes campus only and remote networking.

• License Wizard installation and activation of software licenses.

• AP Wizard basic AP configuration s including LAN, Remote, LAN Mesh and Remote Mesh deployment scenarios.

Installation guide.

supportapj.dell.com/.../W-650_IG.pdf

Hope this information helps some.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks.

April 30th, 2012 20:00

Hi Thank you for your great help and assistance. I am looking forward to my Power Connect Device journey setup path:-)

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

May 1st, 2012 06:00