Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 5th, 2008 16:00

Ethernet controller issues for Dimension 2350 - can I replace with USB Network Adapter?

I'm a bit of a novice, so bear with me. I have Dimension 2350 desktop and use the USB cable to connect to my Westell modem to access DSL service via my phone company. Recently purchased Belkin N router so that my kids could wirelessly connect via their laptops downstairs. (Previously they were accessing the net via neighbors' unsecured networks - aka mooching) Router was easy enough to set up but when it came time to "wire" my home PC to the router I had to disconnect the USB connection and use ethernet, which I had never used before. My computer told me there was new hardware installed - the ethernet controller - and that it needed updated driver to function. Note: ethernet shows up in Other Devices, not the network adapters area of Device Manager. Anyway, been all over the forum reading posts from others with same problem - unable to find/load driver. This is what I've tried so far... Downloaded driver file for Broadcomm 4401 Integrated Adapter Version A03. Problem: says there is one more "disk" to the file and to load it. Hmm... Downloaded and tried to reinstall Intel Chipset Utility. Problem: goes through setup, gets to 30%, and then gives me a USB message saying I could run my device faster if it was connected to a USB 2.0 port. Huh? Short of reformatting hard drive, reinstalling OS and all the other jazz just to get drivers recognized, what can I do? Besides, can't find the darn Resource CD! I've seen USB ethernet adapters for around $25 and wondered if that could be a suitable replacement for my current non-working one. Can I just disable my current one and install the USB one? Note: I'm not looking to go wireless. I want my desktop PC to be "wired" to my router and I need to be able to connect via ethernet. Many thanks. Nancy

1.7K Posts

August 5th, 2008 17:00