Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 2nd, 2019 06:00

Install and boot Optiplex 990 from NVMe M.2 SSD?

I'm trying to install a SSD drive to boot my Optiplex 990 MT system from it.

I want to but the Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 250 GB but I have many concerns and doubts regarding the PCIe slots version and the BIOS compatibility with booting from such storage chip.

Can someone help me with this subject as I'm not good with all these technical details?

TX

MR

2.5K Posts

December 2nd, 2019 06:00

no PC told. just 990  (5 cases not stated)

no that PC does not have any m.2 there, at all ,nVME nor for wifi

open you case and, look first,  

they sell PCIe cards with M.2 slots,  but your BIOS and PC do not support that. (strike to)

wiki history of M.2 NVME and see that your PC is way too old (by a mile ) that is what the XP comments mean.

why not just put in a SATA SSD 2.5", and forget m.2,.  

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

December 2nd, 2019 07:00

390 790 990 is 2011 machine that runs XP and is PCI-E 2.0.

NVME PCI-E booting requires 2012 or later UEFI GPT.

This will never be an option for booting.

December 3rd, 2019 12:00

As pointed out, the bios does not support boot from NVMe drives.

That being said, some people bypass such limitations of older motherboards by using boot manager (Clover, Refind, …). The boot manager boots from supported drive (USB, SATA, ...) and contains the necessary drivers to boot the desired OS from the NVMe drive.

There are obviously some limitations - the boot manager increases the boot time and the Optiplex 990 uses PCIe 2.0 slot(s), which would slow down the EVO 970. If you decide to do this, you may opt for some cheaper alternative (as long as it uses 4 PCIe lanes).

If you want more information, guide and downloads, you may start here or here.

5 Posts

December 2nd, 2019 23:00

speedstep

Thank you for your reply.

AMOF, I thought my only problem would be needing to use a PCIe card!