Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 14th, 2013 02:00

Disk failure on SAS 6/iR Adapter - basic questions

Hi,

I've just had a disk failure on a T300 with a SAS 6/iR Adapter configured with Raid 1 on a single virtual disk. I'm new to this, so would appreciate a bit of basic advice on resolving this.

I've ordered a replacement disk of the same type. From what I've read so far, I simply need to remove the failed drive, boot the system and the array should spot the new drive and bring it into the virtual disk. Is that correct, or is there some manual intervention required?

Secondly, how can I tell which drive has failed, so that I replace the right one? The system is reporting a single physical disk, 0:1. I guess this means that 0:0 has failed. When I open the chassis, is there a way I can determine which of the two installed disks is which?

Are there any other issues I should watch out for?

Thanks for your time, and sorry for asking such basic questions,

Kevin

9 Legend

• 

16.3K Posts

July 14th, 2013 06:00

ONLY shut down the system if it does not have a hot-swappable drive bay (drives accessible in trays from the front of the machine) ... if the drives are accessible from the front, then you need to do the replacement 'hot' (simply pull the failed drive, then insert the replacement).

Assuming (for the moment) that you do not have a hot-swap setup, you should find the cables inside labeled as HDD0, HDD1, etc., so you should be able to locate drive 0:0 fairly easily.

In many cases, the drive will automatically begin the rebuild, but you will want to confirm this, which you can do either in the CTRL-C utility during POST or from the OS using OpenManage Server Administrator (OMSA).  I would recommend OMSA ... if you don't have it installed, you can (and should) install it.  What OS are you running?

5 Posts

July 15th, 2013 17:00