Start a Conversation

Unsolved

R

23 Posts

February 18th, 2019 04:00

Advice on replacing/upgrading Poweredge T320 & T310

Hi...

We currently have 1x Poweredge T320 and 1x T310 (both around 8-10 years old), but have been advised to replace them with a HP virtualised server. We're slightly reluctant to do this, primarily down to cost, but also because they're working fine. That said, I appreciate that things move on and replacements need to be factored in. Also, one server is running MS SBS and SQL, which will have support ending later this year (or early next year). The other is running SBS 2011, so support will end a little further down the line - albeit this server only handles our own network and emails, but this has since been moved to a cloud solution (it's no longer essential to our operation). We will need to retain a SQL server going forward, as we have a management software and database running on it. 

I'm really no great expert on servers (but understand bits), so am after some second opinions. Generally speaking, would there be anything obvious that prevents us from installing updated SBS and SQL versions and carrying on with one of the servers? Or, would the newer software versions require updated hardware to run effectively - thus it's best that we just bite the bullet and replace everything at the same time (not necessarily with HP!).

Sorry if I'm too vague or general. Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

February 18th, 2019 06:00

No, throw away SBS. Since its codebase is 2008 R2, its long-overdue death is also Jan 2020 (along with 2008 R2 and Windows 7). If you are talking about the version of SQL installed with SBS, then you can probably go to SQL Server Express installed on a Server 2016/2019 box. Check the specs of Express, as there are some limitations to its being free, but it may be adequate, depending on your use. If upgrading hardware, there is no value in staying on SBS.