Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

January 31st, 2010 18:00

Firmware update on PE 1950: Where are detailed steps?

Greetings all!

I have had a very frustrating process trying to update a pair of 1950's.

I need some help.

As I understand it, there is a DVD iso I can download that I boot the system with. The DVD then updates the firmware.

I have updated a BUNCH of iso's. I have a bootable disk that is for OS setup and firmware update. It prompts for the firmware library, which I have, and it identifies a bunch of things to update.

But it does not actually do the update....

So I am back to square one. AAAAACCCCCKLKKKKKK

Can anyone tell me exactly what DVD iso to download?

And, I guess, I also need steps to use it.

I am a very advanced sysadmin. I can only assume that I have the wrong utility.

Please advise.

Thanks!!!

9 Legend

• 

16.3K Posts

January 31st, 2010 19:00

Sounds like you may have the correct utilities,  but they just are not working.  Just to be clear however ...

You need to boot to the SMTD DVD (System Management Tools and Documentation - 2 DVD ISO's merged together using copy /b at command prompt):

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/format.aspx?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd&deviceid=17861&libid=36&releaseid=R250023&vercnt=4&formatcnt=0&SystemID=PWE_1950&servicetag=&os=WNET&osl=en&catid=-1&dateid=-1&typeid=-1&formatid=-1&impid=-1

Then you will need the SUU DVD as the update repository (Server Update Utility - 3 DVD ISO's merged together using copy /b at command prompt):

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/format.aspx?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd&deviceid=16823&libid=36&releaseid=R256418&vercnt=11&formatcnt=0&SystemID=PWE_1950&servicetag=&os=WNET&osl=en&catid=-1&dateid=-1&typeid=-1&formatid=-1&impid=-1