Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 12th, 2010 20:00

PowerEdge SC430

I have two of the Dell PowerEdge SC430 computers (with Pentium4-D 2.8 GHz CPU) for several years now.  They have served us well in a home-based test lab environment (I am a SQL Server Developer/DBA).  Today I upgraded one of the computer's RAM from 2-GB up to 4-GB.  I have the BIOS up to version A04 and I have the computer running Windows-7 32-bit.  The problem I have is that Windows-7 SYSTEM says only 3.25-GB of the 4-GB installed are usable.  Is there by chance a PATCH or update that can be applied so the entire 4-GB is usable?

Thank you.

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

August 12th, 2010 22:00

As you may already be aware, 32-bit operating systems (Windows or otherwise) can only use 4GB of RAM.  Windows reserves a portion of those 4 billion addresses for hardware interaction.  Because these addresses are reserved, not all the RAM is "usable".  The actual amount of  "usable" RAM can vary between 3.25 and 3.75, depending on the actual hardware needs of the system (video, add-in cards, and other integrated components are the biggest variables).

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

August 13th, 2010 11:00

Do both SC430's have the same OS and edition (Professional, Enterprise, etc.)?

In the SC430, it all comes down to the processor it is outfitted with.  If the processor supports 64-bit, then you can install a 64-bit OS on it - provided you can find x64 drivers needed for any device not supported natively by Windows 7.

6 Posts

August 13th, 2010 11:00

Thank you for the reply.

If I move the 4-GB RAM to the other SC430, I get 3.6-GB usable RAM.  And the two SC430's are equipped equivalently - dual 80-GB SATA drives, same video card (which uses 1.4-GB of shared memory), and same sound card - with same updated drivers and BIOS-level (A04).  One SC430 says 3.25-GB and the other SC430 says 3.6-GB usable RAM.