Start a Conversation

Unsolved

F

2 Posts

March 17th, 2019 17:00

updating outdated R710

Hi, I have this used R710 and on first boot I noticed that this machine has hardly ever had any updates. Bios=1.2.6 Idrac=1.10.13 For now there is no OS installed on the system. How do I go about from here upgrading this machine? I am new at this, and I presume if I go about and update all tot the latest I could break some things. Been reading of people struggling if updates are to far out.. What is the safest route to take, and con somebody point me out some good guides on how to do this?

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

March 17th, 2019 18:00

Hundreds, maybe thousands of firmware updates and I've never had a bad one, including jumping from very old to very new versions. I used to tell people to jump to the next critical update … if you want to go a "safer" route (note the quotes).

Doing them using the LCC or Server Updates ISO as a repository is harder to set up, but it will update everything in one step. I would probably just put Windows Server and install the updates from there.

2.9K Posts

March 18th, 2019 09:00

The bootable firmware update .ISO is normally what I recommend. You can locate it here: https://dell.app.box.com/v/bootabler710/folder/60646213395

However, with the iDRAC being as far back as it is, you may need to update it a few times to make sure that the packages install without issue. The easiest way to do this would be to update through the iDRAC. You can find the steps in this reference video starting at around 3:55.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Qh2_ZFTMho

It looks like the oldest firmware revision available for the iDRAC is 1.85, so starting there would probably be for the best. After updating to that, I'd update to 1.99, and then finally bring it to current with 2.91. I'd try the utility upon completion.