Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

D

November 11th, 2009 13:00

EMC Smarts SDK status

HI all,

This is my first post so bear with me my in-experience.

I'm relatively new to the EMC Smarts product suite. However, I've been attending discussions throughout the year identifying gaps in our monitoring setup.

My questions are:

Does EMC continue to support the SDK? The documentation refers to version 6.5.1 dated 2006.

How about integration. EMC Smarts integrates with a number of management systems via adapters (e.g. sm_ehealth). I believe these are categorized as custom adapters. Is the SDK not used to build custom adapters?

Finally, I'm trying to gather all the necessary documentation to tackle the possibility of building adapters. So far the documentation I've uncovered are:

EMC Smarts Adapter for Concord eHealth 1.2 (P/N 300-003-280)

EMC Smarts Adapters Event-to-Notification Templates 1.0 (P/N 300-006-937)

EMC Smarts Software Development Kit Remote Programmer's Guide 6.5.1 (P/N 300-003-309)

So my understanding is, an adapter (e.g. sm_ehealth) needs to interface with the Adapter Platform Suite to convert events to notifications. Topology is built within the adapter and gets "uploaded" to the Adapter Platform. The 3rd party application needs to be able to export it's configuration and the adapter must be able to parse the configuration. The adapter also builds the topology and makes the event to notification association. When a trap arrives to INCHARGE-OI, the trap manager understands how to tie the trap to the proper object (in the repository).

Thanks for any advice you can provide.

Dennis.

36 Posts

December 14th, 2009 05:00

Hi Dennis,