Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 21st, 2010 13:00

how to remove several devices at once in SMARTS

I currently work as an Smarts administrator. I frequently have to add and remove several devices from the system at once. I was wondering if there is an ASL script I can use to remove multiple devices from the system at once. Currently I have to use the "Administrator Instances" screen which is ok but when I remove more than 3 devices it takes 3-5 minutes. Im just looking for a faster way to complete this task.

Thanks!

18 Posts

September 21st, 2010 18:00

Hello,

To perform the same bulk device removal task via CLI or scripts (e.g. dmctl, ASL respectively) should theoretically take at least the same amount of time (depending on how efficiently the script/commands are coded).  So I would say the only real advantage to CLI and scripts is if you wanted to automate the task somehow.

Even so, with dmctl you can remove a device on the CLI with the following dmctl command:

# dmctl  --server    invoke  ICIM_UnitaryComputerSystem::   remove

Similarly, in an ASL script you can invoke the remove() function of a device object, e.g.  objRef->remove();

NOTE:

Do not perform a "delete" operation in dmctl or ASL on a device object because this removes only the object itself from the topology and not any of its related objects.  E.g. removing a switch object and leaving behind its associated card objects in the topology.  The object's "remove" method takes care of this.

Kind Regards,

Louie Cavaliere

EMC Global Support

January 20th, 2012 11:00

Can u pls tell me how to remove a device thru GUI.(from all domains)

Currently i am doing like this............from domain manager administration console first i am unmanaging the device and then deleting is it correct let me know

13 Posts

May 25th, 2012 07:00