Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 23rd, 2006 19:00

Need Maxtor help

I'll preface this message by saying I'm not a newb by any means - I've been building PC's for years, and have worked for 15+ years in Technical Support for a Fortune 100 company that makes both Windows software and hardware.

That being said....I purchased a Dell Dimension E510 several months ago (got too busy at work to build my own from parts/pieces) and it's been working great; I'm very happy with it. It came with a 160gb Seagate S-ATA drive, and I've nearly filled that up. Went out Saturday and picked up a 500gb Maxtor 7H500F0 drive, which I tried to install last night. Connected the 2 cables, tweaked my BIOS so S-ATA 2 was set to AUTO and rebooted the PC. My new drive was seen by the BIOS just fine upon boot up, but I'm getting no joy in XP whatsoever (i.e. the new drive is not detected at any point and never shows up in either my Control Panel -> System -> Device Manager list or Explorer).

I spent several hours Googling this topic and searching these Dell forums hoping to stumble onto an "A HA!", but no luck in either. I saw the warnings about Maxtor drive failures, and I will consider taking it back and getting a Seagate instead, but I still remain concerned that any other HD I put in will not be detected by Windows. Am I missing something painfully obvious?

Oh...before I forget...Maxtor drives come with a configuration utility (MaxBlast) that supposedly fixed an XP issue with drives that are larger than 130gb, but even after that hiccough was addressed, I still don't see the drive at all.

Any ideas? Is there a Dell / Dimension E510 driver somewhere I need to download? I did see drivers for several Maxtor drives in the Download section, but none were for drives larger than 250gb and my model wasn't listed.

Thanks for your time!

John

4 Posts

October 23rd, 2006 20:00

John,