Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 25th, 2010 01:00

What is the Recovery partition for??

Hi,

A few weeks ago I purhcased a Studio XPS 1645 with Win7 Pro x64 and a 256SSD GB. By today's standards, 256GB is decent but it's not a TON of space (I have a terabyte of movies and music my desktop PC), so every bit counts.

When I started playing around, I noticed a pretty significant portion of space missing, which after quick investigation in the Disk Manager revealed a partition called "Recovery". At first I got pretty excited, because what "Recovery Partition" means to me is a protected partition that contains an OS reinstall or maybe even an entire image of my factory install.

Well, I quickly dismissed this because out of the 14.6GB allocated, there are 14.5GB free...so there's like 100 megs of somethign there, but certainly not an OS reinstall.

So then I thought, maybe this is a partition that is meant to be used with Windows recovery options, such as System Restore or Windows Backup & Restore. Well that was nixed pretty fast too, because the partition is not assigned a drive letter, so it was not actually recognized as a mounted drive.

So, apologizing for the lengthy explanation above, what IS this partition for?? As far as I can tell, I'm wasting 14.6GB for no good reason. And if it IS supposed to be a separate drive meant to store backup and restore points on, why would it not have a drive letter assigned? (and yes I know its easy to on my own but that's not the point, I want to know what Dell's reasoning was).

Lastly, less annoying but confusing nonetheless, there is yet a 3rd partition called OEM with 100% of 39MB being free. So there is NOTHING on it.

Can anyone please explain to me, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

- John

2.7K Posts

March 25th, 2010 10:00

Hi John

I will do my best to help you !