Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 25th, 2010 06:00

Static SRDF and Dynamic SRDF

S

Hi All,

I am new to EMC symmetrix, Can anyone guide me what exactly Static SRDF and Dynamic SRDF means??

1) How we configure RA groups for static SRDF.

2)  The guides to which I have referred have mentioned “The Static SRDF  configuration is made at the time of configuring Symmetrix done by EMC  itself and the configuration is in the BIN file.

Does this mean I  need to predict/Pre-calculate to which remote Symmentrix I would  replicate and what are the R1 and R2 devices would participate in the RA  groups before starting the EMC Symmetrix?

Please help me out!    I am Struck !!

Thanks in Anticipation,

Sid

2.1K Posts

November 29th, 2010 08:00

Hi Sid,

Static and Dynamic SRDF are very much what they sound like. But Static isn't quite as bad as what you are thinking.

Static SRDF is the "traditional" way of configuring things. You don't have to plan ahead before turning the arrays on for the first time, but configuration (and reconfiguration) does require EMC to do a BIN load on your arrays. This is sort of non-disruptive (although the required config locks can be somewhat disruptive to operations). It does require more planning ahead than Dynamic SRDF.

Dynamic SRDF allows you (the customer) to configure your own SRDF links and modify configurations without EMC's involvement. This works out very well if you have staff that understand SRDF and can plan and implement the configuration changes safely.

In our environment Some DMX3 (5773) and VMax (5784) arrays we exclusively use dynamic SRDF and it works well for us.

5 Posts

December 1st, 2010 18:00

Hi Allen,

Glad to see your reply.

Now I got better understanding about SRDF