Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 4th, 2014 10:00

VMAX IE - Host and Array LUN IDs

I've been working and learning VMAX for a few months now, and am still struggling with some of the concepts.  I started out on VNX and am trying to draw some parallels between them conceptually, even though I know they are very different.

I'm having trouble with the idea of LUNID's, as well as how dynamic LUN addressing and Consistent LUN plays into that.

I understand that a given device will have a device ID.  This seems to correlate approximately to the array LUN # for a VNX LUN (which seems to serve as both the LUN ID and Array LUN number).

Then when a device is mapped to a given FA port, there is a LUN ID associated with that.  This can be seen with e.g. symcfg list -sid ## -avail -addr -fa 1E -p 0.  The last column in this case is a LUN column.  This starts at 0 and is consecutive.  Again this appears to be an Array LUN ID, having nothing to do with Host LUN ID, and would again correspond to the array LUN # on a VNX LUN.  Meaning that if there is a host restriction that LUN ID's higher than 255 are not addressable, this particular ID being higher or lower than that would be irrelevant.  And I can't have multiple LUNs with ID 0 for boot LUN purposes.

And finally, there appears to be a Host LUN ID also that is shown in this thread:Can I change Host LUN ID on vmax? This is set on a per storage group basis.  This seems to correspond to a VNX HLU which can be set when adding LUNs to a storage group.

Summary - A device will have a DeviceID, then an array LUN ID (which will be consecutive on the particular FA it is mapped to), and then a Host LUN ID (which can be configured per storage group).

So my questions are:

1. Is this correct?  If not, which parts am I missing or confusing?