Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

July 4th, 2018 06:00

Driver Installation after reinstall of Windows 10

I am currently planning on replacing my current failing hard drive with a new SSD. This is my first time attempting to fix computer hardware, and I have some questions related to driver installation. Thus far, I have purchased the hard drive, saved necessary files to the cloud, and created a USB boot drive of Windows 10. When I reinstall Windows 10, I will need to download and install all of the drivers that were preinstalled when I bought the laptop. If I install SupportAssist first, will it find and install everything I need? Or is there a webpage I should go to that would have a download button that would give me everything that I will need? Also, in a similar vein to the above question, the programs that were preinstalled on my laptop (Dell SupportAssist, Dell Update, Nvidia Geforce Experience, Nvidia Settings, etc.), is there any special or unique steps needed to reinstall any of these, or can I just download and install each program from there respective websites?

• 

17K Posts

July 5th, 2018 05:00

Shulk1234,

Once you get the OS installed you will need to download and install the drivers in the correct order for your computer. Click the link below to choose your system and the OS to download the drivers. The other link is the driver install order that you will need to follow. The support assist download link is listed below as well. You can install it once you have the drivers installed. It will then provide you with any new updates for your system.
Support.dell

Drivers and Downloads FAQs

Drivers Help

How to Reinstall Windows Drivers in the Correct Order

Support Assist

3 Posts

July 7th, 2018 07:00

So if I am understanding correctly. Below are the steps I need to take:

- Install OS