Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 21st, 2010 07:00

Vmax disk layout

We just got a new vmax with 3 flavors of disk, (EFD, FC, SATA).  I am new to EMC and was wondering what is the best way to architect how the disk layout is configured for presenting storage to our hosts for optimal performance.  We would like to use virtual provisioning, is there a "best practice" when configuring your hypers to gain optimal performance?  Need some assistance here to understand how tracks and cylinders play into the configuration.

Thanks in advance.

184 Posts

May 21st, 2010 08:00

You may find EMC's new product called FAST a perfect fit for your environment, it automatically tiers your storage as you define.

Refer to the following document on Powerlink: "Implementing Fully Automated Storage Tiering (FAST) for Symmetrix V-Max."

There is a Thin Provisioning Best Practice document on PowerLink that will answer your questions for this product.

184 Posts

May 21st, 2010 08:00

If you cannot find these documents on PowerLink I have both Best Practices documents I can send you if you would like to post your email address or I can put on EMC FTP site.

15 Posts

May 21st, 2010 12:00

Create a standard TDAT size that fits best for all 3 types of storage.

You want your TDAT's as large as you can get them to make use of the the most space in the physical disk (usually 2-4 TDAT's fit in the disk well for mirrored pairs).

Then create three separate pools such as (just examples, name then whatever you want)

shared_450_efd

shared_450_fc

shared_1000_sata

Now create your various TDEVS, these can be any size you wish. For the sake of administration you may want to pick a small handfull of "standard sizes" but it is by no means required.

If you want to use these devices just like regular devices then when you bind them to the pool you will want to "preallocate" the entire lun size.  Otherwise they act like thin devices.