Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 11th, 2013 16:00

R610 noise

Hi,

Does anybody had any luck making R610 less noisier? I have one running here that since the moments I turn it on it sounds like a jet.

Fans are always behing 8000RPM. I've read that BMC updates can fix this but I have the SUU iso here and when I run the command "suu -c" it doesn't list any bmc firmware to update, so, anybody has some experience to share please?

Thanks!

548 Posts

September 12th, 2013 01:00

Making Dells 1U rack servers quiet after the fact is not at all easy. It's something that needed consideration during the design phase but it seems this was not a high priority during the design as these machines generally reside in an air conditioned server room and generally not located in the same room as humans... Seems you and I are fringe dwellers in this respect :emotion-1:

Also I'm no expert but the SUU may not contain the latest available downloads since it is a periodic release (every 1/4 i believe?). To find the latest downloads available, you may need to manually check R610 driver and downloads site. But don't get caught up with BIOS/BMC updates to solve a fundamentally noisy design as you may be wasting your time (if your lucky Dell may have played at the fringe of the 'curve' which will have a minimal impact on noise if the machine is lightly configured). There are also a variety of R610 documents worth browsing and they should be available here. I believe the "Technical Guide Book" and "Hardware Owners Manual" are helpful in understanding the limits of your machine.

From a quick web search, the R610 produces 37dbA noise output which is a noisy machine to my ears but seems this is a low output machine by 1U server noise standards (from what i have read elsewhere).