Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

January 24th, 2008 21:00

Ad Aware Definitions

I have Ad Aware Personal 1.06r1. I can't download any new definitions. Does that mean that I must upgrade to Ad Aware 2007. But as I recall Ad Aware 2007 was crashing according to Dell community members. Any innput would be helpful.
Windows XP
Sherr

2.7K Posts

January 24th, 2008 21:00

Sherr, I have been using Adaware 2007 for several months and it has worked well. 

459 Posts

January 24th, 2008 22:00

I started to download Ad Aware 2007. But half way through the download terminated. So I'll forget about it and download Super Anti Spyware as you suggest. Anyway I still have Windows Defender. I deleated  Ad Aware before the attempted download. So now it's gone. Thanks
Sherr 

Message Edited by Sherr on 01-24-2008 08:01 PM

3 Apprentice

• 

15.2K Posts

January 24th, 2008 22:00

Ad-Aware SE personal stopped support (definitions) on or about 31 Dec. 2007.   As such, there is very little point to keep it around anymore [unless you're prone to getting re-infected by "old" problems known to its database].

I am one of the people having problems (service crashes) with the newer Ad-Aware 2007.   I know that Joe53 and 1972Vet have [or had] problems/concerns with it as well.   BugBatter, in contrast, reports having no problems with it.

But both BugBatter and I agree on a more key point:   We have not made any use of AA '07 in helping people remove problems/infections.   Rather, we concur that the single most useful [free] scanner/remover currently available is SuperAntiSpyware ( SAS).   If you don't already have SAS, I would strongly recommend you consider it [the FREE version, for home use, suffices].  
(If you wish to keep AA-'07 around as an additional "insurance" scanner, that couldn't hurt anything.)

1 Rookie

• 

5.8K Posts

January 24th, 2008 23:00

Sherr:

I agree with ky331.