Highlighted
2 Bronze

Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

DCU has worked very well on this system for several years, and the current version (3.1.2) has worked well for some months.  Suddenly it has started hanging with the mesages

  • "Operation in progress"
  • "Warning: An operation is currently in progress. Please wait until it completes."
  • "Operation is 10 % completed..."

I have tried disabling the antivirus software, running DCU with admin privilegies and running the system in safe mode (then DCU did not start at all).  I have also tried reinstalling and donwgrading to previous 3.x versions.  Nothing helps.  Any suggestions on how to fix this?

2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Dell released Dell Update 4.0 today. Problem resolved!

View solution in original post

Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution
0 Kudos
60 Replies
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Any solutions? I have the same issue. 

Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Also having this issue. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Any solutions? I have the same issue.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I'm having the same issue with version 3.1.3 of Dell Command | Update. Very annoying.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
3 Argentum

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

same here with 3.1.3 but mine says "Operation is 100 % completed".

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Same problem I have with Dell Command Update version 3.1.3 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Same problem for me but with the Version 3.1.3. I hope that DELL will will do something about it.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Would be nice with some sort of reaction from Dell - this application used to work fine for several years.

EDIT: I'm seeing the same in 3.1.3

Letten_0-1598946916228.png

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Hi,
Could you Private message the system service tag so that we could look into this?
Regards,
Mausam


Social Media Support

#IWork4Dell
To help us troubleshoot, click my Dell-name and send me a private message with your Dell PC or Monitor Service Tag number

0 Kudos
Highlighted

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I am having the EXACT SAME problem.  My screen looks identical to your screen shot.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Also same problem.....

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Correction, Dell Command Update 3.1.3 hangs with "Operation in progress"

Extra infromation for the Dell robot, yes my laptop is still under warranty.

If this is related to my warranty..... shame on you Dell!!

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Having the same issue with work and personal PCs. Service tag is irrelevant, it's a software glitch.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I am seeing it on only one of our PC's (XPS 13 9380) so far.  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Dell Update and there was no change.   Support Assist is reporting a problem as well, although it does show updates ready to install but then fails when you try to install the updates.   Any solutions Dell?  Thanks  

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

the same to me 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

SAME problem here with 3.1.3. What a mess. Dell please fix this bug.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I am having the same problem. Nice to know I am not alone. Looking forward to your help with this Dell. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

We request you to perform suggested checks an share the outcome at the earliest.

 

Thanks!


Social Media Support

#IWork4Dell
To help us troubleshoot, click my Dell-name and send me a private message with your Dell PC or Monitor Service Tag number

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

What are those "suggested checks", @DELL-Cares?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Same issue but with version 3.1.102 that will not update

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Same issue.  Please provide solution and/or tests to solve.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Hi, I'm facing the same issue with 3.1.3 version update on Windows 7 - it hangs after '10%'.

 

I've uploaded the activity log to https://cloud.mail.ru/public/2QdZ/22YmLWRA3

 

My device is OptiPlex 3020

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

This is the extract from log file (C:\ProgramData\Dell\UpdateService\Clients\CommandUpdate\Client.log)

 

[2020-09-19 17:35:30] {Dell.DCU.ViewModels.Base.UpdateViewModelBase->INFO} Sandbox Directory Status: Nominal
[2020-09-19 17:35:30] {Dell.DCU.ViewModels.Base.UpdateViewModelBase->INFO} A 'Initialize' operation, owned by another application ('Service'), is currently in progress.
[2020-09-19 17:35:30] {Dell.DCU.ViewModels.Base.UpdateViewModelBase->INFO} Ignoring the 'Initialize' operation because it is owned by a another application.
[2020-09-19 17:35:30] {Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateView->INFO} UpdateView Loaded
[2020-09-19 17:35:40] {Dell.DCU.MainWindow->INFO} Event handler mouse left
[2020-09-19 17:36:12] {Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateFilterTabView->ERROR} Exception Occurred.
System.InvalidOperationException: The specified Visual is not an ancestor of this Visual.
at System.Windows.Media.Visual.TrySimpleTransformToAncestor(Visual ancestor, Boolean inverse, GeneralTransform& generalTransform, Matrix& simpleTransform)
at System.Windows.Media.Visual.TransformToAncestor(Visual ancestor)
at Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateFilterTabView.IsOutsideViewport(UIElement uiElement)
[2020-09-19 17:36:14] {Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateFilterTabView->ERROR} Exception Occurred.
System.InvalidOperationException: The specified Visual is not an ancestor of this Visual.
at System.Windows.Media.Visual.TrySimpleTransformToAncestor(Visual ancestor, Boolean inverse, GeneralTransform& generalTransform, Matrix& simpleTransform)
at System.Windows.Media.Visual.TransformToAncestor(Visual ancestor)
at Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateFilterTabView.IsOutsideViewport(UIElement uiElement)
[2020-09-19 17:36:16] {Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateFilterTabView->ERROR} Exception Occurred.
System.InvalidOperationException: The specified Visual is not an ancestor of this Visual.
at System.Windows.Media.Visual.TrySimpleTransformToAncestor(Visual ancestor, Boolean inverse, GeneralTransform& generalTransform, Matrix& simpleTransform)
at System.Windows.Media.Visual.TransformToAncestor(Visual ancestor)
at Dell.DCU.Views.UpdateFilterTabView.IsOutsideViewport(UIElement uiElement)
[2020-09-19 17:36:41] {Dell.DCU.ViewModels.Base.UpdateViewModelBase->INFO} A 'Initialize' operation, owned by the 'Service' application, is currently in progress. Block until the operation completes.
[2020-09-19 17:36:41] {Dell.App.Core.ServiceAccessor.InstanceHandler->INFO} Service call try count : 0
[2020-09-19 17:36:41] {Dell.DCU.ViewModels.Base.UpdateViewModelBase->INFO} Service is busy. Operation is 10% completed.
[2020-09-19 17:36:42] {Dell.DCU.ViewModels.Base.UpdateViewModelBase->INFO} Service is busy. Operation is 10% completed.

 

Uploaded the whole file to https://cloud.mail.ru/public/4XR6/2U693ctKk

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Any solution?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Seeing the same with update version 3.1.3.

Hope a solution comes soon.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Same Problem here, first all runs smooth. After sucessfull BIOS Update now it hangs on 10% Operation in progress. Tried serveral reboots and waiting  without sucess

Volker

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I'm seeing the same issue. Tried repairing and also removing DCU per another post's suggestion and the application is still not working. Tried using Revo Uninstaller and got the same issue. Running V3.1.3 of the Universal Windows Platform version for Windows 10

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I uninstalled the application.
renamed this two folders
C:\ProgramData\Dell\UpdatePackage
C:\ProgramData\Dell\UpdateService
(I had to stop dell services that where running in order to be able to rename the folders. NOt sure which one di it but I stopped every service that began with DELL)

Once the folders where renamed I reinstalled the app. The install created the folders again and now its working.. so looks like something in those folders is telling the app that something is still running.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution
regarding my case , after moving the PC in a new domain (so a new admin profile was created) the problem was gone. No other changes had been made to this PC. So maybe it helps if you create a new user profile with admin rights on the workstation Greetings from Austria, Volker
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I'm glad to know that the issue got resolved after creating new user account. 


Social Media Support

#IWork4Dell
To help us troubleshoot, click my Dell-name and send me a private message with your Dell PC or Monitor Service Tag number

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

@EngelV Thanks for your suggestion.  I tried it, but it did not help.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Thanks for the suggestion, @JA AS , I'm sorry it did not work for me.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I tried running DCU from an elevated (admin) Windows Command Line, and got this (hanging like the GUI app):

C:\Program Files (x86)\Dell\CommandUpdate>dcu-cli /scan
An operation, owned by the 'Service' application, is currently in progress.
DellClientManagementService is busy. Waiting for service to be available...|

If I try deactivating this service I get this error:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Dell\CommandUpdate>dcu-cli /scan
The DellClientManagementService is disabled. To proceed, enable the DellClientManagementService.
Program exited with return code: 3002

If i re-enable the service the error reverts to the original.

It seems like DCU is starting (and keeps busy) the DellClientManagementService without being able to release it to itself.  What are you doing to improve this, @DELL-Cares?

Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

i Stopped the service which gave you error and restarted the Aliewanre Update ( Dell Command Update ) it worked fine 🙂 thank you @blazius1 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Yes, stopping and starting DellClientManagementService (and consequent 'Dell Command Update' restart) helped me as well.

So it looks like service connection programmatical issue, which should be fixed by @DELL_Cares

Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Perhaps what worked for me was actually stopping the services and not the folder rename? I reinstalled the application with all Dell services stopped.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I am also having this issue with 3.1.3. on my 7591 2n1 please advise asap.

Elkidog_0-1601418188526.png

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Thanks for the suggestion @JA AS , I'm tried it now, but it did not help me.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Not sure if anyone is still having this issue, but it presented on several XPS 15 systems in our area. After some trial and error we discovered that these systems had the Dell Support Assist application on them (UWP Version). We uninstalled Command Update and then uninstalled Support Assist, rebooted and then reinstalled Command Update. After that Command Update started working again.

From what we could tell, Support Assist and Command Update don't like to be installed on the same system. And to be honest they're redundant, so best to choose one over the other.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Thanks for your suggestion, @pbbarntt , unfortunately it did not work for me.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I'm having the same issue with 3.1.3. 

I noticed in Add/Remove Programs the install looks like dell is Installing 2 things something along with DCU. I’m not sure exactly what it’s for it’s also named Dell Command Update. I tried uninstalling it hoping it was tied to that DellCommandManagement service that’s hanging but it didn’t remove the service. Running DCU without it caused the same behavior. It looks like that service is something new with the newer version I don’t see it after running the 3.1.0 install. I can’t figure out a way to install the new version without that piece installing.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

After more testing we found that this issue only effect specific Dell Models. The models we notice this issue with currently are:

Dell 5400, 5500, 53002N1

On these machines after installing Dell Command Updates 3.1.3 during the scanning phase to find what drivers are available the software hangs.

You can reproduce this manually by opening a command prompt navigating to the dell command update directory and typing in the command dcu-cli.exe /scan

The process will hang with the following message "DellClientManagementService is busy. Waiting for service to be available"

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I am experiencing the issue with an Optiplex 9020.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Vostro 3670, Dell Update 3.1.3 - same error. Stuck @ 10% for hours.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Possible easy solution to hanging:

Installed v3.1.3 today on an aging Inspiron running Win7 & had same problem after installing Bios (operation in progress....)

A previous post mentions Dell Client Management Services (DCMS) which was started/running. Closed the  Dell Update program. Stopped DCMS with Task Mgr. Tried to reopen Dell Update but would not start; I thought that it would restart DCMS, but did not. Went back and restarted DCMS. Dell Update works fine; checked for updates - no hanging; ran update twice.

Note: With Task Manager in Win 7, you must click on Services button at bottom of Services tab to Start & Stop DCMS. Did not try Start/Stop in Win 10, but there is not Services button on its Services tab.

Hope this helps.

Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Hi, I worked for me. I've restarted the DCMS service during the Dell command update, twice, at the third time, Dell command update has arrived to 70% and then 100% showing all new drivers and bios.

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
2 Bronze

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

Thanks fot the suggestion, @Torpedillo .  When i stop the DCMS service, DCU closes immediately.  Does it continue running for you?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
3 Argentum

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

@blazius1  same issue here

Also, with 3.1.3 installed, DPO 6.4.5 "System updates" check results in a meaningless error.

Went back to DCU 3.1.0 as suggested above, and it works OK, even DPO works again now...

Hopefully DCU 3.1.4 will come soon and fix this

0 Kudos
Highlighted
1 Copper

Re: Dell Command Update 3.1.2 hangs with "Operation in progress".

Jump to solution

I had this issue on a Latitude 7200 2-in-1. My deskside techs confirmed they had seen it on all of our 7200s in the environment.

Seems if we rolled back and installed the 3.1.0 version the scan worked perfectly and finished within seconds like it should have.

Looks like the latest build version is buggy.

0 Kudos