Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 4th, 2007 17:00

Frozen on the Logging Off screen

Ive just opened my brandnew Dell Inspiron running Vista Basic. I browsed through the various menus for a while then my machine seemed to get stuck seaching for the 'sytem info' menu.  As i was in a hurry I went to the start menu and chose 'Log off' , but this seemed to freeze too, so I just closed the lid to the laptop and left it. 

When I came back several hours later it booted up as normal but then went to the 'Logging off' screen and stayed there.  Nothing i did (tried Ctrl/Alt/Del) will shift it from the 'Logging off' screen.  Even after closing the lid so it powers off, then opening again just returns me to the logging off screen.

Can anyone help?
(This is my first time using both Vista and Laptops)

edit: UPDATE.  Now the computer won't start up at all.  The only sign of life are the two little LEDs showing that the machine is on.  Does this sound terminal?

Message Edited by ianiow on 04-04-2007 02:35 PM

1 Message

July 19th, 2007 03:00

I am having the same exact problem with my 1-month old Dell Latitude running Vista.  It froze in the Logging Off screen and I can't get it to turn off nor return to Windows!  Can anyone help us?

2 Posts

December 29th, 2008 02:00

I am having the same problem too. I have only had my laptop 1525 for 2 weeks. I have only had it on bout 5 times. It is Froze on "Logging Off"

I am very frustrated, because this is my firt laptop. When reading all of these problem messages....I wonder.. do I need to take it back and get my money back. What is a person to do??

1 Message

December 30th, 2008 11:00

Did you get any help with this?  The same problem just happened to me.  I was trying to shut down before my Vostro 1500 laptop ran out of power.   Once I charged up and turned it on, it resumed windows, then froze in the Logging Off screen.  If you get any help, please pass on.

1 Message

April 22nd, 2009 03:00