Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 5th, 2009 12:00

Operating System CD and Drivers and Utilities CD

I have a laptop Inspiron 1150.  I installed a new hard drive, plus increased memory, but then I could not find my file that contained the CDs for the Operating System and the Drivers and Utilities CD to reinstall them on my laptop.  Dell support said they did not have Windows XP CDs that I could purchase.  I would have to buy a Windows Vista, $255.00.  I have both CDs that came with my desktop.  They said I could not use them as each computer had their own.  I am a new novice computer person.

What could be my solution besides purchasing the Windows Vists complete system? After buying the hard drive and more memory, and then if I have to purchase Windows Vista,  adding all those costs up I might as well send the other parts back and just buy another computer.

Any solution?

872 Posts

April 5th, 2009 13:00

4 Posts

Genius!!!! I am going to try this.  So my old hard drive is still good?  My computer kept saying no bootable devices found.  And Dell said I needed a new hard drive. So I purchased one.

4 Posts

Thanks so much. The OS disc I got for my desktop I guess is a home disc.  Are you saying I cannot use the driver  and utilities disk with my desk top for the laptop.  I have the battery out of the laptop and the hard drive installed.  So now do I put the battery back in and turn it on and then go to downloads for the drivers on the laptop?

I guess they just want you to buy up the Vista.  And you are right, you are probably smarter than they are.  They  have little nitwiches sitting there just trying to sell you something.   I think the one I was speaking with was in India could hardly understand her!

4 Operator

• 

34.2K Posts

Hi, SMcKinzey:

First, you can use the OS disc that came with your desktop as long as it's the same flavor (home or pro).