Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 21st, 2018 04:00

XPS 8930, change the boot order

Using Acronis, I cloned my fast SSD to an internal HD so that when the SSD fails, I will still have a bootable, working machine. I have been doing this for years. But now that I've upgraded my machine to a new XPS 8930,  Windows Boot Manager puts the original SSD fourth in the list and the cloned drive is first. I can boot to the SSD by hitting F12 during the boot and then selecting the SSD, but of course that is both slower & annoying! How can I tell Boot Manager to place the SSD first?   [NOTE:  While I am not a total noob, the information at      https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/devtest/changing-the-default-boot-entry      was beyond me.]

THANK YOU!!!

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

June 27th, 2018 19:00

@Mr King wrote:

1. You say cloning my boot drive is not really a good idea, but you don't give any indication why it isn't a good idea.  

2. I ask because I have been following this practice for probably 20 years, and until now, I have had positive results.   

3. And just in case it modifies your thoughts, I also have two sets of external backups of my three internal drives. 

4. because the copies made with backup programs typically require that backup program to be installed for them to be read. 

5. Of course, the backup of the C: drive never backs up everything, as many of the system files refuse to be copied in this manner.  That behavior, actually, is why I began cloning the C: drive in the first place. 

6. Lastly, I backup to a set of external drives which I store offsite.  

Maybe I'm doing it wrong, but to me ... Cloning is for swapping a drive. Imaging is for backups (and I use it for Cloning also).

1. Well, actually, I did.

- You can store it (or even move it) where-ever you want until you need it.

AND

- It's not using a whole drive that is wasted and could even un-knowingly go bad.