Highlighted

XPS 9100, No F8 boot, boot loop 64%

Hello all I'm not just new to this form but I am basically new to Windows all over again. I went back back in 2004 and I got a Windows laptop last year and Windows 10 was a shock to me considering the last thing I think I ever touched was XP. Just got this Dell a couple days ago and I was heartbroken when I couldn't get the OS to boot. I almost forgot to mention I have tried F8 to get into safe mode and it's not doing anything am I doing something wrong here. When you power on the machine you get the DELL screen followed by Windows logo then the screen goes blank for a few seconds followed with a low-resolution looking image of the windows screen you would possibly see if you were just restarting after doing an update or something and it always says progress 64% and then  reboots  a couple seconds later. Being that I've never been logged into this computer I can't say with certainty but I do believe it is Windows 7 still running on it which I know came with this machine whether or not the person before me had updated to 10 I do not know or maybe this happened because they were trying to update the 10 for all I know. Anyway I do not have a boot disk or copy of Windows on USB or CD but I was hoping to hear some ideas of what this might be and if there's a way to resolve it easily please I appreciate the help so very much!!! Also I was wondering let's say that it has Windows 7 on there now and I get a copy of Windows 10 could I pop in the Windows 10 disk and use it to do a fresh install from where I'm at now? I have 2 16 gig and 1 32g USB drives and a stack of DVDs but I don't have another computer to use to get the file however I have access to a public computer that will allow me to download files I just can't install them I don't know if that will help me at all. THANKS!!

Labels (4)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
8 Krypton

Re: Plz Help! XPS 9100 Boot Loop 64% NO SAFE MODE?