Start a Conversation

Unsolved

A

4 Posts

June 6th, 2020 03:00

Achieving colour parity

Background:

I've recently purchased a Dell XPS 15 7590. I'm a hobbyist photographer, I don't print my own images, they are mostly viewed on screen but I do send images to an online print company who request images in JPG sRGB format. I went for the Dell XPS because of the quality of the screens, I wanted the 4K touch version, I wasn't too fussed about colour gamut but felt the wide gamut was a nice addition and if I ever get more serious with my photography and want to hardware calibrate and print my own images it would serve me well.

The issue:

Out of the box with Premiercolor set to 'vibrant (full)': Colour in Abode Lightroom, Photoshop and Google Chrome (my browser of choice) look good and are similar to what I see on my Ipad Air 2 and Android phone (just at a lesser quality on those devices). MS Windows and ANY Microsoft app displays the colours grossly over-saturated, this includes desktop background, Photos app and Edge app.

With Premiercolor set to Internet (sRGB): Colour in Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop and Google Chrome look under-saturated and do not match what I see on my Ipad and phone. Windows and MS apps now look correct.

What I've done:

I understand (from limited understanding and reading) that Lightroom, Photoshop and apparently Google Chrome are colour managed whereas Windows and MS apps are not. If it wasn't for Google Chrome, I'd be happy to switch Premiercolor to Vibrant (full) when using LR & PS then back to Internet (sRGB) when done in those apps but I am not going to switch when using Chrome as I am in and out of that all the time, plus I'm sure I will come across other apps that look good with one setting and bad with the other. I understand Premiercolor has an app switching feature but in my testing it does not switch back to Internet (sRGB) when using Windows, you have to switch manually.