Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 7th, 2019 06:00

XPS 13 9360 DPC and CPU Throttling issues

I've been using my XPS to DJ since Feb 2018 without any issues. Since the 28th of June I keep losing sound after 20-30 mins of Djing. I can no longer play for more than 30 mins without having to re-plug my DJ controller. 

After speaking to Serato support and implementing all their , I downloaded LatencyMon.

Every time that I run LatencyMon after 2-3 mins it gives me the message:

"Your system appears to be having trouble handling real-time audio and other tasks. You are likely to experience buffer underruns appearing as drop outs, clicks or pops. One or more DPC routines that belong to a driver running in your system appear to be executing for too long. One problem may be related to power management, disable CPU throttling settings in Control Panel and BIOS setup. Check for BIOS updates"

I've disabled everything related to Turbo Boost from the bios, but it still happens. I also followed the suggestion posted on Twitter by Nelson Mark but still no fix :smileysad:

Also tried to disable ACPI.sys from the device manager, as it's the driver that causes the highest delay, but it still seems to run. 

To make things even worse for Dell, my Lenovo Yoga 2 13 from 2014 and the same version of Windows 10 runs fine. :Hmm:

Dell PM'ed me to say that they can't help (Even though I paid £1,5K for a professional machine) as my warranty has expired. 

Anyone in the community that is a producer or DJ has the same issue and found a fix? 

Thanks

9 Posts

July 8th, 2019 02:00

Hello, I have the same usage with my XPS 13 8380 (2019), Production and deejaying.
Last month i talked with Dell engineer to fix the same problem (Appeared out of the box)
Dell release a new bios to fix DPC Latency, early july.
For your problem, if it's recent (28th), it's possible your computer take an update or a driver update.