Start a Conversation

Unsolved

O

3 Posts

March 10th, 2019 10:00

XPS 13 9365, BIOS 2.4.1 Boot Issues

I typically run updates pretty frequently, but didn't install BIOS 2.4.1 for the XPS 9365 (along with other updates) until just recently. Soon after, I noticed that there were boot issues where the Dell logo would appear, but Windows 10 would never start loading. I would then have to hold the power button down long enough to shut down, then power it back on and it would boot.

This morning, I installed the previous BIOS version 2.3.1 and so far, it seems like the boot issue is gone.

So, I think there might be an issue with the 2.4.1 BIOS release.

3 Posts

March 10th, 2019 13:00

Well, just had another boot issue, while on BIOS 2.3.1. So, either some component didn't downgrade, or it is not caused by the BIOS.

Hmmm...

3 Apprentice

• 

4.3K Posts

March 10th, 2019 19:00

All I can say is I have been using that Bios for a couple of months and have seen no problems.

4 Operator

• 

9.4K Posts

March 25th, 2019 10:00

Hi ObliteRon,

Thanks for posting.  Apologies that your system is not performing as expected.

I'm interested to know from which BIOS you initially attempted BIOS update. Also, was it by Dell Update or Windows Update?

Please respond back.  Thanks.

5 Posts

March 28th, 2019 06:00

Hi all - am also having the same issue

Running an XPS 13 9365 (2in1) with BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. 2.4.1, 13-Dec-18. The warranty expired on August 10, 2018.

Everytime I cold boot, the Dell logo appears - but Windows 10 never starts loading (no rotating dots/circle below the logo). I then hold the power button down long enough to shut down, and then power back on and it would boot fine. Whilst booted I can restart multiple times without issue, but as soon as I shutdown - I need 2 boots (as described above) to start working.

All help / advise appreciated

3 Apprentice

• 

4.3K Posts

March 28th, 2019 08:00

@DrakeyOz