Unsolved
This post is more than 5 years old
317 Posts
0
1656
January 16th, 2004 11:00
Spyhunter finding the same 2 files everytime in XP pro
and they belong to Adobe Acrobat (AcroIEHelper.dll). Don't think these files are bogus, but there must be some code in them that triggers the spy app. Any thoughts??
Thanks, Jim.
Thanks, Jim.
No Events found!


fireberd
11 Legend
•
33.4K Posts
•
112.8K Points
0
January 16th, 2004 12:00
Some spyware software will see legitimate files as spyware. you just have to be careful and not allow the spyware software to delete everything it finds.
There was an article in the local paper's tech forum about SpyBot. It detects a legitimate BackWeb file as spyware and deletes it. This renders the BackWeb application(s) inoperative. BackWeb is a technology that some software (and hardware) vendors use to automatically issue updates.
kippy50
895 Posts
0
January 16th, 2004 13:00
Next time you run SB, and it lists those files, right click on the entries and tell SB not to list them any further. Kip
JRosenfeld
2 Intern
•
4.4K Posts
0
January 16th, 2004 16:00
Fireberd,
In addition to Kippy's point, Spybot does not delete anything by itself; it gives you complete control on what to delete. Even then, it puts the deleted item in its recovery folder, so if you find you asked it to delete something you did not want to or should not have deleted, you can recover it from there. Only if you decide to delete items from the recovery folder (again, you can select), is the item fully deleted. Don't blame the software if you don't use it properly.
joyabird
168 Posts
0
January 16th, 2004 16:00
http://www.spybot-download.com/
I'm curious, does Spyhunter have any connection to SpyBot Search & Destroy? It sure looks like they're using key words to lead one to believe they do.
Message Edited by joyabird on 01-18-2004 12:16 AM
JRosenfeld
2 Intern
•
4.4K Posts
0
January 16th, 2004 20:00
The program most of us refer to as Spybot is Spybot Search and destroy, from here:
http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?lang=en&page=download
I think the link you provided is a different program. I don't know it.
joyabird
168 Posts
0
January 16th, 2004 20:00
jimtnc
317 Posts
0
January 20th, 2004 09:00
To the others, thanks for responding with you help and tips. I'm sure this will solve my little quirk.
Jim.
joyabird
168 Posts
0
January 20th, 2004 16:00
jimtnc
317 Posts
0
January 20th, 2004 17:00
Message Edited by jimtnc on 01-20-2004 01:29 PM